Manage topics

Solutions are categorized under topics and subtopics for better management. For example, you can create a topic called Software Installation with a Subtopic such as License Errors, and add the solution for resolving license-related issues under that subtopic.

Role Required: SDAdmin or Technicians with edit solution permission can create and edit topics. Technicians with SDAdmin role can delete a topic.

 Note: Previously, users with the Delete Solution permission could delete a topic. Now, only SDAdmins can delete a topic. 

 

Managing Topics

You can add, rename, or move topics and subtopics to organize solutions in a logical structure that fits your organization’s needs.

In the solutions list view, you can perform the following actions from the left pane.

To show or hide inactive or deleted topics, click .

To add a new topic, click Add New Topic . Enter the topic name.

To expand and view all topics and subtopics, click .

To reorder the topics or subtopics, drag the title to the desired position.

Note: Technicians with SDAdmin role can move solutions from one topic to another.

 

 

Topics can be extended to many levels. That is, a subtopic can in turn contain several other subtopics

 

Topic Actions 

You can manage your topics and subtopics using the available actions listed below. To invoke Topic Actions, right click on the topic or hover over the topic and click the topic actions icon .

 

 

 

Add New Subtopic

 

To add a new subtopic, right-click on a topic and select New Topic.

Provide a name and press enter.

 If a parent topic is shared with specific support groups, the same sharing settings are automatically applied to any newly added subtopics.

 

Rename a Topic

To rename a topic or subtopic, right-click on it and select Rename Topic.

Provide the new name and tap enter.

 

 

Delete a Topic:

To delete a topic, hover over the topic and click  . Select Delete Topic.

In the confirmation dialog, choose one of the following options:

 

 When a topic containing solutions is deleted, its solutions are deleted by default, while any subtopics and its solution are moved to /Topics Root. 
 A topic is permanently deleted in the following cases: 
 When a topic without any solutions or subtopics is deleted. 
 When an inactive topic is deleted again. 

 

  Restore Topic 

 

 Note: When a subtopic is restored, it inherits the current configuration of its parent topic. 

 

 Filter Topics   

Use the topic filter to view solutions from a particular topic or from both the topic and subtopics.

 

 Share Topic 

Share topics and solutions with relevant support groups.

This ensures only authorized technicians can view, edit, and approve solutions, maintaining data security, preventing unauthorized edits and ensures each topic is managed by the right team.

Role Required: SDAdmin, or technicians with Edit solution permission who are part of a support group.

 

To share a topic,

 

 

Apply Changes (Applicable only to SDAdmins) 

Option

Description

To all its subtopics

Applies the changes made to the parent topic to all its subtopics.

Only to this topic

Shares support groups only with the selected topic.

The subtopic can be shared only with the support groups that are shared with the parent topic.

If no matching groups exist between parent and subtopic, the subtopic will be shared with SDAdmins.

Even when Only to this topic is selected, the sharing scope initially applies to all subtopics for the first time.

 

Example:

Parent topic: Incident management

Subtopic: Email notifications

Initially, the Email Notifications subtopic is shared with Helpdesk and Networks support groups. Later, the parent topic is shared with Networks and Servers.

If you choose To all its subtopics, the subtopic will also be shared with Networks and Servers.

If you choose Only to this topic, subtopic will stay shared with Networks only. Help desk is removed as it is no longer shared with the parent topic.

To view shared support groups:

 

 

Note:

Changes made to the topic can be tracked by using query reports. Use the following query to generate the report: SELECT * FROM topichistory.
When a solution is moved from a topic that is shared with a support group, the Support Groups and Solution Owner fields are reset and assigned to all technicians. If the topic is not shared, these fields remain unchanged.
Unapproved solutions in a topic and a topic without any solutions are not listed for users.